India look ahead as some youngsters make cut for West Indies tour

India look ahead as some youngsters make cut for West Indies tour 1

New Delhi: Amid speculation about veteran MS Dhoni’s about his future, Indian selectors Sunday announced fresh faces for the upcoming West Indies tour, giving an impression of rebuilding process after the shock semifinal exit in 2019 World Cup.

“Retirement is purely individual. Legendary cricketer like M.S Dhoni, he knows when to retire,” Chief Selector MSK Prasad told reporters here.

Speculations were rife that Dhoni would hang his gloves for good after his disappointing run in the World Cup.

“We don’t need to discuss anything on it, because first of all he (Dhoni) is not available. Second, we have already started grooming some youngsters,” Prasad said.

The youngsters who have been picked up for various squads are: Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer and Manish Pandey, besides uncapped Navdeep Saini and Rahul Chahar.

Pant, a wicketkeeper batsman, was named in all three formats for the upcoming tour. Iyer, Pandey and fast bowler Saini, have been included in T20 and ODI squads.

Chahar has been included for the T20s.

Wriddhiman Saha was recalled for the Test team after spending more than a year in hibernation due to an injury.

“KS Bharat was very close to get selected in Tests. We have an unwritten norm when a senior cricketer is injured, he should get a comeback opportunity. That’s what we have given to Saha,” Prasad said.

Opener Shikhar Dhawan also made a comeback after recovering from thumb injury, which he suffered during a World Cup match. He has been named both in ODI and T20I squads.

Star bowler Jasprit Bumrah will lead the attack in Tests, but has been rested for ODI and T20I series.

Fellow pacers Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav, will lend him support from other end.

Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav are the spinners named in the Test team.

Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul got the tickets, but senior pro Vijay Murali denied one, who is also facing challenge from young Prithvi Shaw, who is recuperating from an injury.

Vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari and Rohit Sharma are other batsmen in the squad.

Krunal Pandya and Washington Sundar have been included in T20I squad, while Yuzvendra Chahal, Kedar Jadhav and Mohammed Shami have been picked up for ODI squad.

Wicket-keeper Dinesh Karthik and all-rounder Vijay Shankar, who is recovering from an injury, missed out from the limited-overs squads.

The Carribean tour kicks-off with the first of three T20I matches on August 3 in Florida in United States.

The second T20I will be played at the same venue the following day.

The third match will be played at Guyana on August 6. It will be followed by threes ODIs and two Tests.

India Test squad

Virat Kohli (captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, C Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav

India ODI squad

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kedar Jadhav, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Navdeep Saini

India T20 squad

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant, Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini

Related posts

F1 Cost-cutting Measures, Change In Rules Get FIA Approval; Vettel's Plans Pays Off?


Logitech G, McLaren Announce Logitech McLaren G Challenge 2020


Formula One Reports Massive Q1 Losses


Volkswagen associates with IR eSports for 2nd season of Indian Sim Racing League

Sign up for our Newsletter and
stay informed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.